Skip to main content

 

Documentation & User Guides | FotoWare

Giving users access to configure FotoWare server applications

How to give users access to configure FotoWare services through the Operations Center.

Giving users access to configure the server

When the Operations Center is installed, it creates two user groups on the server - FotoWare Operators and FotoWare Administrators. By default, members of the local Administrators group on the server are automatically made members of both the FotoWare groups.

The idea behind these two groups is that members of the FotoWare Operators group can access the Operations Center and are allowed to start, stop and restart server services and individual processes. However, FotoWare Operators may not change the actual configuration and workflow on the installed server applications. This is the privilege of the FotoWare Administrators group, which has full access to the Operations Center and may configure the workflow and configuration of the server applications.

You can add any existing user on your network, for instance domain users, to one or both the FotoWare groups on the server to give them access to the system. Note, however, that you cannot add groups to these groups - users have be added explicitly.

Privilege FotoWare Operator FotoWare Administrator

Access the Operations Center

Yes

Yes

Monitor server activity, performance and load

Yes

Yes

Start and stop services

Yes

Yes

Configure indexes in Index Manager

No

Yes

Configure channels in Connect

No

Yes

Configure workflow in Color Factory

No

Not implemented, Color Factory uses a separate administration program.

  • Was this article helpful?