Skip to main content

 

Documentation & User Guides | FotoWare

Site ownership - what it means and how to transfer it

What is a site owner? How to set ownership?

The site owner concept is introduced with FotoWeb Feature Release 13, build 870. Only one user account can be assigned as site owner, and that user has full administrative privileges on the site.

If the FotoWeb server has been updated from an earlier version of FotoWeb that did not include the site owner concept, the site owner has not been set. In that case, an account can be assigned as site owner in the Operations Center: Go to the FotoWeb site configuration, choose the Settings tab, and then choose Site Identification > Site Owner.

Once a site owner has been set, that site owner will have the possibility to transfer ownership to another account directly from the user management console in the FotoWeb user interface.

How to transfer site ownership?

Important: A user who transfers ownership of the site to another user will not be able to undo the action afterwards. He will lose access to administrative features that are exclusive to the site owner, and only the new site owner can transfer ownership later. Care is advised when using this function.

To transfer ownership of the site to a new user, log in as the current site owner and open the user management console (Tools > User  management). Locate the user to whom site ownership should be transferred, for example by using the search function, and click on the Set as site owner link that appears when hovering over the user name. You will be asked to confirm transfer of site ownership. Continuing will revoke site ownership from your user and transfer it to the selected user.

Transfer site owner (red).png

  • Was this article helpful?