Skip to main content

 

Documentation & User Guides | FotoWare

What happens to assets in albums if an asset is moved from its original location?

When an asset is added to an album, a "link" is made from the album to the original asset. This has the following implications when moving or renaming the original asset:

  • If the original asset is moved to a different archive using FotoWeb , it will remain in the album as long as the destination archive doesn't have a custom ingestion folder.
  • When renaming the original asset using FotoWeb, albums are updated accordingly, and the asset shows correctly in all albums it has been added to.
  • If the original asset is moved using other methods than FotoWeb, for example by directly making changed in the file system from the Windows Explorer or a third party utility, the link between the album and the original asset will be broken, and the assets will disappear from the album.
  • Was this article helpful?