Skip to main content

 

Documentation & User Guides | FotoWare

Sharing an album

Learn how to share an album with coworkers or external users.

Video: Sharing an album

For an introduction to sharing albums, watch this video, or scroll below for written instructions.

Controlling access to the album

When you have created album you may want to share its contents with others. To do so, open up the album using the Albums link in the top banner and then click on the Share link in the top right corner.

To share the album with other FotoWeb users or groups, simply start typing the name of the person or the group you want to add. You can also give each person or group access to Contribute assets to the album, and/or to download files.

Notes:

A user may only delegate download rights if he himself has access to download files in the archives where the assets originate.

Through sharing and delegated downloads a user may access assets through a shared album that he would otherwise not have access to in an archive.

An example:

1. John adds assets from an archive "News Feed" to a new album "Superbowl". John has permission to download assets from "News Feed".
2. John shares the album "Superbowl" with Wanda. Wanda does not have permission to access archive "News Feed" at all. John gives Wanda download permission in the album.
3. Wanda can view and download the assets in the album "Superbowl" but has no other permissions on them. For example, Wanda cannot send them to an action or edit metadata.

Sharing with users who don't have a FotoWeb account

You can also invite people without a FotoWeb account to the album. Simply enter their email address and set their permissions as usual. They will receive an email containing a link with a special access token that grants them access to the album. An album owner can only do this if he/she has been granted privileges to share the album with guests.

Did  you know: You can copy a whole list of contacts from an Excel sheet or Outlook and paste them directly into the album sharing dialog!

Setting access rights

You set access rights per user or group by clicking on the little triangle on each entry. By simply adding a user or group to the album access list but not ticking Contribute that user will only get view and preview permissions in the album.

Access right

What an invited user can do

Basic sharing permissions (no other permissions ticked)

Only Browse permissions

Contribute

View and Preview, plus:

  • Add new assets to the album

  • Remove assets from the album

  • Sort and reorder assets in the album

Download

Allow the user/group to download files from the album

Notes about the Download permission:

  1. The owner of an album can allow other users to download assets from the album by sharing it. This requires a special permission set on the group level, namely delegate download rights. If this permission is given, the album owner sees a Download checkbox in the sharing dialog for each album. Download permissions can then be delegated when sharing an album, when getting a public link to the album, and when showcasing an album publicly on the FotoWeb homepage.
  2. When an album owner shares an album and delegates download rights from the album, invited users can also download assets, but only so long as the album owner has permissions to download the assets from their original archive. In other words, a user may not give permissions to download assets which he himself cannot download.

Adding a message when sharing

If you want you can add a message to the album invitation. Individual users who are invited receive an email with an album invitation. Groups, on the other hand, do not receive email notifications of new shared albums. They will, however, see the album on the Albums page in FotoWeb after logging in.

Other sharing options

When sharing an album, you can also create a public link that anyone can access, and it is also possible to showcase an album on the home screen of all users that access FotoWeb.

  • Was this article helpful?