Skip to main content


Documentation & User Guides | FotoWare

FotoWeb Upload sub action

This sub action is used to upload assets to a FotoWeb archive.


Host name / Archive

Choose the host name of the FotoWeb server. Prefix the URL with https:// if you're connecting securely.

To choose the archive, click on the Browse (...) button to open the archive browser. If this is your first time connecting to the FotoWeb server, you will be prompted to authenticate with your FotoWeb username and password.

Destination folder

Next choose a destination folder in the FotoWeb archive. You can choose a preset folder or to be prompted each time the action is run.

File name prefix

You can optionally add a prefix to all files that are uploaded to FotoWeb.

Metadata requirements for FotoWeb uploads

Each FotoWeb archive may be configured to require that certain metadata be filled in before the update can begin. FotoStation will detect whether such mandatory fields are required and display a metadata editor if required metadata fields are missing. The user is required to fill out all required fields before the upload can proceed.

Resuming incomplete file transfers

For both the FotoWeb Upload sub action and the FTP Upload sub action, FotoStation keeps a simple database that records the state of assets that are queued for transfer.

After a successful transfer a little green icon is shown on the original asset. This marker is based on the presence of metadata in the Transferred by field (metadata field #363) and is automatically populated with the successful transfer of each asset. The marker can be be cleared by removing the contents of this field. If such editing is not desired, make sure the field is not exposed for editing in any of the included metadata editors, and that it does not appear in any drop down menus

If a file fails to transfer, it will be marked with a red icon. . To retry/resume the transfer, open the Actions menu and choose Resume Uploads, where you find a list of incomplete transfers. Simply choosing the action from this list will initiate a new transfer of the assets that failed to transfer last time. You can also clear the state of any pending uploads in this list.

Tip: If you exit FotoStation before a transfer is completed, you will be asked to resume the upload the next time it starts.

  • Was this article helpful?