Video - Introduction to album permissions
When adding a new group or editing an existing one on the Groups tab in the site configuration, you find several album-related settings on the General tab in the Group properties:
Allow members of the group to create new albums. This way they can select files from all the archives they have access to and add them to a new or existing album.
Share with Users / Groups / Guests
Allow album owners to share albums with other users, groups and/or guests.
When a user shares an album with another FotoWeb user, FotoWeb sends an email to that user to inform him of the new album, and he will see it on the Albums page after logging in to FotoWeb. When an album is shared with a group, however, there is not automatic email issued from FotoWeb. Users in that group will still be able to see the new available album on the Albums page after logging in.
When allowing sharing with guests, you make it possible for an album owner or manager to send out invites by email to people without a FotoWeb user account. The email they receive contains a link that gives them access to the album.
Restrict to 'friend' sharing
When allowing sharing of the album with users or groups (see above) you have the possibility to restrict sharing of assets with 'friends'.
This option limits the users and groups an album owner can share the album with:
- When sharing with groups, the album owner can only share albums with groups of which he himself is an explicit member.
- When sharing with individual users, the album owner can only share with users that are members of the groups that he himself is an explicit member of.
Allow an album owner or manager to give download rights to the users with which an album is shared.
Normally when accessing a shared album, users can browse, search and preview content in it, and they may be allowed to contribute content and/or manage sharing of albums with others. Download rights are delegated separately, and an album owner may give invitees download rights if he has been granted this privilege by the system administrator using the Allow downloads permission set here.
A user can only delegate download rights to others if he himself has access to download the original assets.
Allow users in this group to comment on albums and individual assets in an album.
Show on homepage
Allow the album owner to promote the album on other users' homepage when they log in. When a user logs in to FotoWeb, the home page will display all the albums he/she can access as well as any promoted albums. This function will also be available to portal users if FotoWeb has a portal license.