When adding a new group or editing an existing one in the Groups tab in the configuration, you find several album-related settings on the General tab in the Group properties:
Allow members of the group to create new albums. This way, they can select files from all the archives they can access and add them to a new or existing album.
Share with Users/Groups/Guests
Allows album owners to share albums with other users, groups, and guests.
When a user shares an album with another FotoWeb user, FotoWeb sends an email to that user to inform them of the new album, and they can see it on the Albums page after logging in to FotoWeb. However, when an album is shared with a group, FotoWeb does not send an automatic email. Users in that group will still be able to see the new available album on the Albums page after logging in.
When allowing sharing with guests, you make it possible for an album owner or manager to send out invites by email to people without a FotoWeb user account. The email they receive contains a link that gives them access to the album.
For more information about an album owner's options when sharing an album with others, see Sharing an album.
Restrict to friend sharing
When allowing the sharing of the album with users or groups (see above), you can restrict sharing of assets with friends.
This option limits the users and groups an album owner can share the album with:
- When sharing with groups, the album owner can only share albums with groups where the album owner is an explicit member.
- When sharing with individual users, the album owner can only share with users who are members of the groups that the album owner is an explicit member of.
Allow an album owner or manager to give download rights to the users with whom an album is shared.
Normally, when accessing a shared album, users can browse, search, and preview content in it, and they might be allowed to contribute content and/or manage the sharing of albums with others. Download rights are delegated separately, and an album owner may give invitees download rights if the album owner has been granted this privilege by the system administrator using the Allow downloads permission set here.
A user can only delegate download rights to others if the user has access to download the original assets.
For more information about the permissions an album owner can assign when sharing an album, see Sharing an album.
Allow users in this group to comment on albums and individual assets in an album.
Show on homepage
Allow the album owner to promote the album on the Fotoware homepage that users see after logging in. When a user logs in to FotoWeb, the home page will display all the albums they can access and any promoted albums. If FotoWeb has a portal license allowing unauthenticated access to the site, albums showcased on the homepage will also be available to unauthenticated users.
A group can showcase albums on the Fotoware homepage even if permission has not been given to share albums with guests. Sharing albums with guests implies adding their email address to an album's sharing list, while showcasing an album on the Fotoware homepage works independently of this setting.
For more information on how an album owner or manager can showcase an album on the homepage, see Showcasing an album.
The Manage albums permission is in the Administrative permissions section (see screenshot above). This gives users permission to view, delete, or archive any album. A user with this permission will not see all albums in the album list but can perform these actions when visiting an album by URL.