Assigning album permissions to groups
When adding a new group or editing an existing one on the Groups tab in the site configuration, you find several album-related settings on the General tab in the Group properties:
Allow members of the group to create new albums. This way they can select files from all the archives they have access to and add them to a new or existing album.
Share with Users / Groups / Guests
Allow album owners to share albums with other users, groups and/or guests.
When a user shares an album with another FotoWeb user, FotoWeb sends an email to that user to inform him of the new album, and he will see it on the Albums page after logging in to FotoWeb. When an album is shared with a group, however, there is not automatic email issued from FotoWeb. Users in that group will still be able to see the new available album on the Albums page after logging in.
When allowing sharing with guests, you make it possible for an album owner or manager to send out invites by email to people without a FotoWeb user account. The email they receive contains a link that gives them access to the album.
Learn more about the options an album owner has when sharing an album with others.
Restrict to 'friend' sharing
When allowing sharing of the album with users or groups (see above) you have the possibility to restrict sharing of assets with 'friends'.
This option limits the users and groups an album owner can share the album with:
- When sharing with groups, the album owner can only share albums with groups of which he himself is an explicit member.
- When sharing with individual users, the album owner can only share with users that are members of the groups that he himself is an explicit member of.
Allow an album owner or manager to give download rights to the users with which an album is shared.
Normally when accessing a shared album, users can browse, search and preview content in it, and they may be allowed to contribute content and/or manage sharing of albums with others. Download rights are delegated separately, and an album owner may give invitees download rights if he has been granted this privilege by the system administrator using the Allow downloads permission set here.
A user can only delegate download rights to others if he himself has access to download the original assets.
Learn more about the different permissions an album owner can assign when sharing an album.
Allow users in this group to comment on albums and individual assets in an album.
Show on homepage
Allow the album owner to promote the album on the FotoWare homepage that users see after logging in. When a user logs in to FotoWeb, the home page will display all the albums he/she can access as well as any promoted albums. If FotoWeb has a portal license that allows for unauthenticated access to the site, albums that are showcased on the homepage will also be available to unauthenticated users.
A group can be allowed to showcase albums on the FotoWare homepage even if permission has not been given to share albums with guests. While sharing albums with guests implies adding their email address to an album's sharing list, showcasing an album on the FotoWare homepage works independently of this setting.
This article explains how an album owner or manager can showcase an album on the homepage.
Under the Administrative Permissions section (see screenshot above) you find the Manage Albums permission. This gives users permission to view, delete or archive any album. A user with this permission will not see all albums in the album list, but can perform these actions when visiting an album by its URL.