Table of Contents
Choosing a program configuration type
Explains how Fotostation can be configured for multi-user environments, using a default configuration for all users or separate named configurations.
Table of Contents
Choosing your configuration type
Where: The Fotostation Configuration node in the configuration dialog.

- Use a separate configuration for each user - This option allows each user, with their own account on the computer, to use a personalized configuration. Users can then set up their own favorite archives, actions, views, and more. The configuration will be automatically saved when the user exits Fotostation.
-
Log on and load configuration from a file server -This option allows you to specify a location containing Fotostation configuration files, such as a shared folder on a network server. This allows a network administrator to create different configurations for different user types and, optionally, to assign each user a unique username and password. This way, users can start Fotostation, enter their username and password, and gain access to their own configuration.
Turn on the ‘Enable ‘Work offline’ option to keep a separate connection for offline use, for instance, on a laptop that needs access to Fotostation even when it is not connected to the office network. The offline configuration is stored on the local computer and can be configured independently of the network configuration. When Fotostation is started, select Work offline on the splash screen to load the offline configuration (you can log in with your username and password when the computer is connected to the office network). For more information, see Configuring Fotostation for multi-user environments. -
Log on and load configuration via FWP/HTTP - This option enables you to configure a Fotostation client to download its configuration from the network when it starts. Fotoware On-premises users (FWP) can use Index Manager/Operations Center to host configurations, and Fotoware SaaS users can use Fotoware Veloz (HTTP). For more information, see Creating and maintaining centralized Fotostation configurations.
Select Automatically upload configuration on exit to upload the configuration to the server every time you exit Fotostation.
Tip
If your Fotostation environment uses multiple logon folders, you can press the Alt key (Command on Mac) while starting Fotostation to select a logon folder at startup, making it easier for a system administrator to quickly load different configurations.
- Manage configurations via FWP/HTTP - Configurations will be uploaded to a Fotoware On-premises Index Manager/Operations Center server (FWP) or a Fotoware Veloz server (HTTP). In both cases, you can use the user administration dialog to assign configurations to the users/groups found in the directory on the server.
- Manage legacy configurations via file share (SMB): Upload configurations to a folder or file share and use Fotostation's built-in user management.