Table of Contents
Configuring Fotostation for automatic updates
Table of Contents
Fotostation can be configured to automatically check for and download updates. Different editions of Fotostation deal with automatic updates differently:
| Fotostation edition | Auto update enabled by default | Comments |
|---|---|---|
| Fotostation | Yes | Auto-update is enabled by default. It can be disabled if required. |
| Fotostation Pro (single user) This product is discontinued. |
Yes | Auto-update is enabled by default. It can be disabled if required. |
| Fotostation Client (multi-user network edition) | No | Auto-update is disabled by default, as Fotostation Client is often used in managed environments. It can be enabled by using a configuration downloaded from the network (using Logon to server functionality) |
Manually checking for an update
To check for available updates, open the Help menu and select Check for updates.
Fotostation will check for available updates on the web. If one is found, you will be shown the release notes for that release and allowed to download it and update your current version.
Note
If your Fotostation configuration is protected with a password (typical in network environments running Fotostation Client), you will be asked for the password before proceeding.
Activating auto-update
There are two ways to ensure your Fotostation is always up to date:
Check for updates
- Open Fotostation.
- Go to Help > Check for updates.
- Select Automatically look for updates to ensure you are notified when a new version is available (this option is off by default).

Enabling automatic updates
- Open the File menu (or the Fotostation menu on the Mac) and choose Configuration.
- Expand the General tab and choose the Miscellaneous node.
- Select Enable Fotostation auto update.
Note
With automatic updates enabled, users will be notified and offered to download and install updates as they become available. Installing an update requires administrative privileges on the computer.
License validation
The update check also verifies that your product key is valid for running the updated version of Fotostation. If you receive a notification that an update is available but not valid for your currently activated product key, you can obtain an agreement from Fotoware. If you already have a valid agreement, log on to the Fotoware Customer Portal and access your latest key on the Licenses page. If you recently renewed the agreement, ensure the product key has the updated expiry date. Activating the product key will make it possible to update to the latest version of Fotostation by running the update function again.