Table of Contents
Assigning album permissions to groups
Users must have album permissions through a group to create, edit, and share albums. Learn how each permission works.
Table of Contents
Album permissions
When adding a new group or editing an existing one in the Groups tab in the configuration, you find several album-related settings on the General tab in the Group properties:
.png)
Create
Allow group members to create new albums. This way, they can select files from all the archives they can access and add them to a new or existing album.
Share with Users/Groups/Guests
Allows album owners to share albums with other users, groups, and guests.
When a user shares an album with another Fotoware Veloz user, Fotoware Veloz sends an email to that user to inform them of the new album, and they can see it on the Albums page after logging in to Fotoware Veloz. However, when an album is shared with a group, an automatic email is not sent. Users in that group will still be able to see the new available album on the Albums page after logging in.
When you allow sharing with guests, an album owner or manager can send invitations by email to people who do not have a Fotoware Veloz user account. The email they receive contains a link that gives them access to the album.
For more information about an album owner's options when sharing an album with others, see Sharing an album.
Restrict to friend sharing
When allowing the sharing of the album with users or groups (see above), you can restrict the sharing of assets with friends.
This option limits the users and groups that an album owner can share the album with:
- When sharing with groups, the album owner can only share albums with groups in which the owner is an explicit member.
- When sharing with individual users, the album owner can only share with users who are members of the groups to which the owner is explicitly a member.
Allow downloads
Allow an album owner or manager to grant download rights to users with whom the album is shared.
Usually, when accessing a shared album, users can browse, search, and preview its content, and they may be allowed to contribute content and/or manage sharing the album with others. Download rights are delegated separately, and an album owner may give invitees download rights if the album owner has been granted this privilege by the system administrator using the Allow downloads permission set here.
A user can only delegate download rights to others if the user has access to download the original assets.
For more information about the permissions an album owner can assign when sharing an album, see Sharing an album.
Comment
Allow users in this group to comment on albums and their individual assets.
Show on homepage
Allow the album owner to promote the album on the Fotoware homepage, which users see after logging in. When a user logs in to Fotoware Veloz, the home page displays all albums they can access, as well as any promoted albums. If guest users access the site, the albums showcased on the homepage will also be available to them.
Note
A group can showcase albums on the Fotoware homepage even if permission to share albums with guests has not been granted. Sharing albums with guests means adding their email addresses to an album's sharing list, whereas showcasing an album on the Fotoware homepage operates independently of this setting.
For more information on how an album owner or manager can showcase an album on the homepage, see Showcasing an album.
Manage albums
The Manage albums permission is located in the Administrative permissions section (see the screenshot above). This gives users permission to view, delete, or archive any album. A user with this permission will not see all albums in the album list, but can perform these actions when visiting an album by URL.