Skip to main content
Documentation & User Guides | FotoWare

Deactivating a FotoWare software product

This topic explains how to deactivate a FotoWare server product. Deactivation is necessary when you're planning to move the server software to another server.

For information on  how to deactivate FotoStation, see Moving your copy of FotoStation to another computer.

Deactivating a server application

Go to the Windows start screen and start typing Deactivate Licenses. Select the Deactivate licenses shortcut when it appears. All the activated products will be listed in a window. Select the products you want to deactivate and select OK to proceed.

You can also open the Run dialog (shortcut Windows-R) and enter fwappactwiz -deactivate. When the deactivation wizard opens, select the products you would like to deactivate and select OK to proceed.

Deactivating FotoStation

Learn how to deactivate FotoStation.

What if deactivation fails?

If deactivation fails, chances are you have recently run a license fulfillment after renewing your Agreement. During a fulfillment, the old activation keys are removed and replaced with new ones, so that the old ones cannot be "returned" through deactivation. In that case, you can simply use the new activation key to activate the software on the new server that you're setting up. (To obain the most recent, valid product key, log on to License Center. For more information, see How to register and obtain product keys.)