Table of Contents
Managing site cache settings
Caching of assets is important for your site's performance. This topic describes the configuration of the caching in FotoWeb.
Table of Contents
Changing the location of the disk cache
From the Tools menu (cogwheel icon), go to Site Configuration > Server Configuration > Cache.

To change the location of the folder where proxy files are stored, enter the new location in the Cache folder field.
After changing the path, you should copy any existing content from the old cache folder to the new one. Before doing so, stop all FotoWeb services and then complete the move. If your FotoWeb server is running on IIS, you must also start the FotoWeb administration console and select All Tasks - Remove from IIS, then follow the prompts. Then choose All Tasks - Setup IIS on the site so that IIS is updated with the new location.
The Maximum size (MB) per site relates to cache purging.
Maximum idle time (Days) refers to the number of days an asset remains in the cache without being accessed. The asset is removed when the specified number of days has been exceeded.
What does the disk cache contain, and how much space does it require?
The disk cache stores previews, thumbnails, video keyframes, and poster images in various sizes, helping to boost the performance of your Fotoware DAM system.
Ensure that the drive holding the cache always has sufficient space available. This limits fragmentation and helps ensure optimal system performance. Generally, we recommend keeping 20% of the drive space free, as performance suffers when it dips below 10%.
The cache can grow to any size, provided there is sufficient disk space. However, you can set a purge schedule globally on the server for all sites, as described below.
Setting a purge schedule
A purging schedule for cache cleanup can be set globally for the entire server: In the FotoWeb Settings app, go to Settings > Advanced, where you can set a Disk cache cleanup schedule.
.png)
When purging, the oldest items are removed first until the cache is no longer larger than the maximum cache size set for each site.
It's recommended to schedule the cache purging to run outside of operating hours.