Table of Contents
Sharing an album
How to quickly share an album with others in the FotoWeb Pro interface.
Table of Contents
Share an album
Albums can be shared with individual users, groups, or external recipients. When sharing an album, you can control access, grant download or contribution permissions, and add a message.
Sharing an album
- In the Albums panel, select the title of the album you want to share. The album opens in a separate tab.
- Make sure that Grid view is selected. You can press G to switch to Grid view.
- Select the Share album icon in the upper-right corner.
- In the Share with field, enter the names of users, groups, or email addresses.
- (Optional) Select Add a message to include a subject and message with the invitation. If you add a message, individual recipients receive it in the invitation email. Groups do not receive email notifications, but users in those groups can access the shared album after signing in to Fotoware.
- (Optional) Select Set sharing period and specify when access to the album starts and ends. If no sharing period is set, the album remains shared until access is removed manually. When a sharing period is configured, recipients can access the album only during the specified time frame.
- Configure permissions for each recipient.
- Select Share.
Recipients receive access according to the Permissions section below.
Sharing with Fotoware users and groups
To share an album with people who have a Fotoware account, enter their name or the name of a group.
Users must sign in to access albums shared this way. You can grant each user or group permission to contribute assets to the album, download assets, or both.
Sharing with external recipients
You can share an album with people who do not have a Fotoware account by entering their email address.
Recipients receive an email containing a secure link to the album and can access it according to the permissions you assign.
To share albums with external recipients, you must be granted permission to share with guests.
Tip
You can copy and paste multiple email addresses directly from Excel, Outlook, or another application into the sharing dialog.
Permissions
You can assign different permissions to each recipient when sharing an album.
| Permission | Description |
|---|---|
| Basic sharing (no additional permissions selected) | Allows recipients to view the album and preview its contents. |
| Contribute | Allows recipients to add assets to the album, remove assets from the album, and sort or reorder its contents. |
| Download | Allows recipients to download assets from the album. It also provides access to Crop & Download and Place when these features are included in the recipient's user tier. |
Other sharing options
When sharing an album, you can also create a public link that anyone can access, and it is also possible to showcase an album on the home screen of all users who log on to FotoWeb.
Live notifications when an album is shared with you

When someone shares an album with you, a notification appears next to your user avatar in the upper-right corner of the Fotoware Veloz Pro interface, letting you know that you have been given access to the album. Select the notification to open the album.