Skip to main content

 

Documentation & User Guides | FotoWare

Controlling what happens to deleted files

This topic covers how to control what happens to files that users delete from FotoWeb archives.

This is configured under Settings - Behavior - Trash Can in the FotoWeb site configuration.

Options for handling of deleted files

Options for deleted files

Users can be given access to delete files by setting that permission in the access list on the archive properties page.

As an administrator you can control how FotoWeb treats files that are deleted - they can be immediately deleted from the drive, or you can move files to a temporary storage location so that files that are deleted by mistake are relatively easy to recover.

Permanently delete files: This option allows permanent deletion of files when a user performs a delete action.

Move deleted files to the following folder: This option allows the deleted files to be moved to a specified folder for later recovery. The administrator should make sure that the FotoWeb Admin account has write permissions to the specified folder to be able to move files to it.

Tip: When using the latter option, you will want to monitor the folder where deleted files are stored, as files may quickly pile up on a busy system. By using FotoWare Color Factory you can set up a purge channel to monitor this folder and delete files that are older than x number of days to automate the process.

Learn how to configure purging in Color Factory.