Skip to main content

 

Documentation & User Guides | FotoWare

Creating users and assigning them to a configuration

  Creating users

If you have more than one configuration stored on the network server, you will need to create user accounts that can be associated with the different configurations. Do so by opening the File menu (FotoStation Pro menu on the Mac) and  selecting Manage configurations and then User administration. Locate the FotoStation Logon folder and click OK to proceed to the user administration window.

To create a user, click on the New User button. Then specify a user name and password. If you do not specify a password, any user can log on and download the user’s associated configuration. Using the Select Configuration dropdown list, choose the configuration you want to associate with the user. 

 Options

Use the Windows user name and log-on automatically when possible: If you choose this option FotoStation will automatically try to determine if the user’s Windows / Mac OS logon account has a matching account in the FotoStation user base, and if it does, that user’s configuration will be loaded automatically. However, if no matching account exists, the user must manually select a user name and enter a password when starting FotoStation.


User must set password on first logon: Forces the user to choose a password when logging on for the first time. The user logs on by entering her username and choosing a password. She will then be required to verify the password before FotoStation loads the configuration.


Automatically upload new configuration on exit: By selecting this option, the user in question can make changes to the configuration which will be automatically uploaded to the server when he / she exits FotoStation. Under normal circumstances, any changes made to the configuration on the server will disappear when the program is restarted, since the original configuration on the server will be downloaded again and any changes abandoned. In other words, this option should typically only be enabled for system administrators.