Table of Contents
Setting archive access and permissions
Table of Contents
Archive access lists determine which users and groups can access an archive and what they can do with its assets.
Finding the archive access list
- From the Tools menu (cogwheel icon), go to Site Configuration > Archives.
- Open the properties of the archive you want to configure.
- Select the Access list tab.
Using the access list to control user and group access to archives
Access lists are evaluated from top to bottom. If you use groups to manage access, place the most specific groups at the top and broader groups at the bottom.
If a user belongs to more than one group in the access list, the entry highest in the list determines their permissions.
Each access list entry can specify permissions and an autosearch filter. If the archive itself also has an autosearch filter, both filters are applied.
Note
Access list entries are not combined. Fotoware Veloz uses a single matching access list entry for each user. Only the permissions and autosearch filter from that entry are applied.
Registered users and Everyone
- The Registered users group includes all users with a user account (username and password) on the system.
- The Everyone group includes all registered users, as well as unauthenticated users with guest access.
These two groups are always listed at the bottom of the archive access lists.
How Fotoware determines access
For each user, the access list is evaluated in this order:
- If an entry exists for the individual user, that entry is used.
- Otherwise, if the user belongs to one or more groups in the access list, the highest matching group entry is used. The group hierarchy does not affect this..
- Otherwise, if the user is registered and a Registered users entry exists, that entry is used.
- Otherwise, if an Everyone entry, that entry is used.
- If none of these entries apply, the user cannot access the archive.
Archive permissions
| Permission | Description |
|---|---|
| Browse | Allows the user to open the archive, view thumbnails, preview assets, and view asset metadata. This permission does not allow the user to edit assets. |
| Quick Rend | Allows the user to download previews in the sizes configured by the administrator. For more information, see Defining custom-size downloadable previews (Quick Renditions). |
| Zoom |
Allows the user to access the Zoom tool in FotoWeb and FotoWeb Pro. For more information on which asset formats support high-resolution zooming, see Which file formats support high-resolution zooming in FotoWeb? Note:
|
| Workflow | Allows the user to access Actions and Markers in the archive. The Actions and Markers available to the user also depend on the permissions configured for each Action and Marker. |
| Duplicate | Allows the user to duplicate assets in the archive. |
| Download | Allows the user to download assets from the archive |
| Order | Allows the user to send assets to the shopping cart for further processing and delivery. |
| Edit Text | Allows the user to edit the assets' metadata. The choice of editor and quicklists is made by the system administrator. |
| Rotate | Allows the user to rotate assets in the archive. |
| Copy to |
Allows the user to copy into this archive from another archive This permission also allows the user/group to duplicate assets in the archive. |
| Move to | Allows the user to move into this archive from another archive. |
| Copy from | Allows the user to copy assets from this archive to another archive. |
| Move from | Allows the user to move assets from this archive to another archive. |
| Rename | Allows the user to rename assets in the archive. |
| Delete | Allows the user to delete assets in the archive. Depending on how FotoWeb has been configured, deleted assets will be permanently deleted immediately, or they may simply be moved to another folder. |
| Alerts | Allows the user to set up alerts based on events in this archive. |
| Edit SmartFolders | Allows the user to create archive navigation with the help of SmartFolders. |
| Crop & Download | Allows the user to crop the selected image assets and download them. |
| Export | Allows the user to export assets to a CMS system using FotoWeb CMS Export. |
| Comment | Allows the user to comment on the archive or individual assets in the archive. |
| Annotate | Allows the user to create annotations on the assets in the archive. |
| View revisions | Allows the user to view asset revisions and create duplicates based on a revision. |
| Restore revisions | Allows the user to restore a previous revision, making it the most current one. |
| Manage revisions | Allows the user to delete asset revisions. |
For information about Consent Management permissions, see Access list.
For information about Version Control permissions, see Configuring user access to revisions.
FotoWeb Desktop permissions
When the user is granted any of the permissions below, they will be prompted to install FotoWeb Desktop the next time they log in to FotoWeb.
- Edit - Lets the user check out assets from the archive and edit them in the FotoWeb Desktop Image Editor. The asset will be automatically checked back in after editing, and the original asset will be overwritten.
- Open - Lets the user check out assets from the archive for editing in a local application. When users have finished modifying the asset, they can check it back into the system using the FotoWeb Desktop tray icon for checked-out assets.
- Crop - Lets the user check out assets from the archive and crop them in the FotoWeb Desktop Crop module. You can set up archive-specific crop profiles to control preset measurements and the type of crop users are allowed to use.
- Place - Required for users to be able to use any FotoWeb Desktop plugins and to place assets on a slide/page/layout in Office and InDesign.
-
Upload - Allow upload to this archive. Users can upload assets to the archive using:
- FotoWeb Desktop uploader for Mac and Windows
- FotoWeb apps for Android, iPhone, or iPad
- Selection widget for CMS integrations
- Web interface upload from the main FotoWeb interface.
Users who create new files in Photoshop or Illustrator also need Upload permissions to upload the files to the archive using the Creative Suite Extension (in practice, the extension triggers the FotoWeb Desktop Uploader tool when the user initiates an upload).
Note
Edit and Open operations don't lock the original file for editing by other users. As such, another user can check out a duplicate of the file and potentially overwrite someone else's changes.
FotoWeb Desktop Extension for Adobe Creative Suite
Users of the FotoWeb Desktop Extension for Adobe Creative Suite require the Open permission to check out and edit existing assets. Upload permission is required to upload new assets.
Access list filters
-
Consent filter: Selects the Consent Management filter applied to the user or group. For more information, see Consent Management archive settings.
-
Autosearch filter: Limits the content that the user or group sees when browsing and searching the archive.
Note
An autosearch filter does not provide asset-level access control. It controls which content users see when searching and browsing the archive, but it is not a security mechanism for restricting access to individual assets. For more information, see Adding search filters to an archive.