Table of Contents
Cropping and downloading pictures
Table of Contents
Administrators can configure archives to allow users or groups to crop and resize images in the browser before downloading the original file in the archive is left untouched. This feature relies on the Crop & Download permission set on the archive's access list.
When a user chooses to download a file, the Crop window appears, allowing them to choose a processing profile, adjust and rotate the crop, and set a size or aspect ratio. If several images are selected, the user is prompted to set crop options for each image. The files are then processed and packaged in a ZIP file, which the user can download when processing is complete.
Cropping an image
![]()
Select one or more images,then select Crop & Download in the action bar.
Note
If your selection contains non-image files, the Crop & Download option will not be available.
Cropping and sizing
Set the crop by dragging a frame around the area you'd like to keep. You can also rotate the crop by placing the cursor outside the crop frame and dragging.

Specify the width, height, or both in pixels. If you specify only the width or height, the other dimension is determined by the crop.
If you specify both the width and height, the crop frame uses the corresponding aspect ratio. You can then resize and position the crop frame over the area you want to keep.
If the selected processing profile resamples the image to a predefined pixel size, the width and height settings determine the aspect ratio rather than the final pixel dimensions. The processing profile determines the final pixel size
Clicking on Reset crop resets the crop frame.
Tip: Rotate the crop frame by clicking outside it and dragging.
Resetting the crop
To reset the crop, click on the Reset button. If you've locked either width or height, those measurements will remain.
To reset all settings, open the Presets menu and select Revert.
Image processing
Now the Processing Profile you want to use.

Depending on the archive's download settings, a processing profile may be preset, in which case the user cannot override it when performing a Crop & Download.
It is also possible to configure the archive so that the user can choose from a selection of processing profiles decided by the system administrator.
Downloading the cropped picture
When you're ready, select Download to start processing the file.
When processing is complete, the Processing Finished dialog appears. Select Download to download the processed file.
Tip
When downloading multiple images, you can set options for each image individually, then select Next to continue. Your selected preset is retained when the next image loads. After you've made your selections for all images, the files are processed and packaged in a ZIP file. When processing is complete, select Download in the Processing Finished dialog to download the ZIP file.
Creating a crop preset
You can create crop presets to save a processing profile and image dimensions for reuse. The position of the crop frame is not stored, so you can position the crop for each image.

Presets store the pixel width, pixel height, and the choice of processing profile. This leaves it up to the user to place the crop frame in the picture.
If both width and height are locked and the processing profile resamples the image to a predefined pixel size, the values define the aspect ratio rather than the final pixel dimensions. In this case, Width and Height change to Aspect. The processing profile determines the final pixel dimensions.
After setting your preferred crop and size, select Presets > Create preset. Name the preset and select OK.
The new preset is then stored and becomes available in the Presets menu for later use.
Presets
Crop & Download presets are separate from the presets used for Crop in Actions.
Clearing a selected crop preset
To clear the current settings, go to the Presets menu and select Revert.
Sharing a crop preset

To make a preset available to other users, select Shared when saving the preset.
Shared presets are available to all other users who have access to the crop and download features.
If you choose the Lock settings option when sharing a preset, anyone who uses the preset can only change the crop frame and rotation, but cannot change the selected processing profile, pixel size, or aspect ratio.
If the settings aren't locked, users can change the processing profile, pixel dimensions, and aspect ratio.
Controlling who can share presets
For users to be able to share presets with others, the group permission Share crop presets must be set on one of the groups the user belongs to.
Existing shared presets can only be deleted by users who have the group permission Share crop presets assigned.