Skip to main content

 

Documentation & User Guides | FotoWare

Setting archive access and permissions

This topic deals with the various access permissions you can assign to an archive using the access list and how permissions are applied.

Using the access list to control user and group access to archives

Access lists in FotoWeb are evaluated from the top to bottom. If you add groups to the access lists (recommended), it is important to move the most specific groups to the top and the least specific groups, often those with the most members, to the bottom of the list. That way, if a user is a member of two groups that are both granted access to the archive, his exact access permissions will be determined by the permissions set on the highest-listed group.

For each entry in the access list, a set of permissions can be assigned, as can an auto search filter. The auto search filter in the access list is applied together with the auto search filter on the archive itself, if any.

 

Important: Entries in the access list are never combined. For each user trying to access the archive, FotoWeb determines one single entry in the access list, and only the permissions and autosearch filter from that entry are applied.

What are the 'Registered users' and 'Everyone' groups?

Registered users is a group that contains all users with a user account (username and password) on the system. The Everyone group includes all registered users plus unauthenticated guests. These two groups will always be listed at the bottom of the archive access lists.

An entry in the access list is assigned permissions according to the following rules:
  1. The access list is evaluated from top to bottom.

  2. If there is an entry for the user, then that entry will be used.

  3. Otherwise, if there are one or more entries for groups of which the user is a member, then the entry which is topmost in the access list will be used. The group hierarchy does not matter.

  4. Otherwise, if there is a "Registered Users" entry, and the user is not a guest, then that entry is used.

  5. Otherwise, if there is an "Everyone" entry, then that entry is used.

  6. Otherwise, the user does not have access to the archive.

 

FotoWeb archive access list

What the archive permissions mean

Browse - The user may open the archive and view thumbnails. Clicking a thumbnail he can preview the asset and see asset metadata, but not edit it.

Quick Rend. - The user may download a preview in the size(s) defined by the FotoWeb administrator. Learn more about setting up Quick Renditions.

Zoom - The user has access to the Zoom tool in FotoWeb and FotoWeb Pro to be able to zoom in on the full-size image.
In FotoWeb Pro zooming is available in Filmstrip and Preview views.

Learn which file formats support the zoom feature.

Please note the following about the Zoom permission:

  • Giving a user Zoom privileges on an archive will effectively override any watermark settings for that user, so that neither thumbnails or previews in the archive in question are watermarked.
  • Enabling zoom on archives can have a significant impact on the performance of the FotoWeb server. Use with care.

Workflow - Enables the user or group to use Actions and Markers in this archive. The actual Actions and Markers that are shown in the archive depends on permissions set on each action and marker.

Download - Gives the user access to download files from the archive

Edit Text - Grants the user rights to edit the files' metadata. The choice of editor and quicklists is made by the system administrator.

Rotate - Gives the user rights to rotate pictures in the archive

Copy to - Gives the user rights to copy to this archive from another archive

Move to - Gives the user rights to move to this archive from another archive

Copy from - Gives the user rights to copy files from this archive to another archive

Move from - Gives the user rights to move files from this archive to another archive

Rename - Lets the user rename files in the archive

Delete - Lets the user delete files in the archive. Depending on how FotoWeb has been configured, deleted files will be permanently deleted immediately, or they may simply be moved to another folder.

Alerts - Lets the user set up alerts based on events in this archive.

Export - Required to allow users to export pictures to a CMS system using FotoWeb CMS Export.​

Comment - Allows users to comment on the archive or individual assets in the archive.

Edit video - Allows the user to request re-transcoding of a video that failed to transcode for whatever reason.

Tip: It's also possible to set common permissions for a whole selection of archives!

FotoWeb Desktop permissions

When the user is granted any of the below permissions, he will be prompted to install FotoWeb Desktop the next time he logs in to FotoWeb.

 

Edit - Lets the user check out files from the archive and edit them in the FotoWeb Desktop Image Editor. The file will be automatically checked back in after editing and the original file is overwritten.

Open - Lets the user check out files from the archive for editing in a local application. Then, when a user has finished modifying the asset, he can check it back in to the system using the FotoWeb Desktop tray icon for checked out files.

Important

Edit and Open operations don't lock the original file for editing by other users. Hence, it is possible for another user to check out a duplicate of the file and potentially to overwrite someone else's changes.

Important: Users of the FotoWeb Desktop Extension for Adobe Creative Suite require Open permissions on the archive to be able to check out files in Photoshop and Illustrator, edit them and check them back in. A file that is opened in Photoshop or Illustrator is effectively checked out from the server and downloaded locally. When the user saves and closes the file, it will be uploaded to the server and checked back in (unlocked). A user can also save a local copy of the file with a different name, in which case he can upload that file to FotoWeb by triggering the FotoWeb Desktop Uploader from within the CS Extension. In this case, it's the Upload permission (see below) that controls which archives he is allowed to upload new files to.

Crop - Lets the user check out files from the archive and crop them in the FotoWeb Desktop Crop module. You can set up archive-specific crop profiles to control preset measurements and the type of crop users are allowed to use.

Place - Required for users to be able to use any FotoWeb Desktop plugins (Office and CS) and to place files on a slide/page/layout in Office and InDesign.

Upload - Allow upload to this archive.  Users can upload files to the archive using (1) the FotoWeb Desktop uploader for Mac and Windows, (2) FotoWeb apps for Android, iPhone or iPad, (3) the selection widget for CMS integrations or (4) the web interface upload from the main FotoWeb interface.

Users who create new files in Photoshop or Illustrator also need Upload permissions to be able to upload the files to the archive using the Creative Suite Extension. (In practice, the extension will trigger the FotoWeb Desktop Uploader tool when the user initiates an upload.)

Permissions that relate to FotoWeb Desktop for iOS

To be allowed to search and preview content in archives from FotoWeb Desktop for iPhone, the following rights must be enabled:

Browse - Allows you to search and view the archive grid on the iPhone and open a larger preview by tapping a thumbnail in the grid.

Zoom - Lets you zoom in on the high-resolution image. Although you can zoom even without the Zoom feature enabled by pinching the iPhone screen, doing so will not give you a higher-quality picture than what's available in the Preview.

Upload - Required only if the users should be allowed upload access to the archive.

Autosearch Filter

The auto search filter in the access list can be used to fine-tune the content that different users and groups see when accessing the archive.

Note:

The auto search filter does not allow access control on individual assets (permalinks). In other words, auto search isnot a security "function", but rather a search and browse filter to show users certain parts of an archive.  Learn more in the search filters topic.